Lentil + rocket salad

lentil and rocket salad

Once upon a time, I was a vegetarian. Well actually I was a pescatarian because I couldn’t bear to ditch fish, but for the sake of brevity, I called myself a vegetarian to anyone who asked. My motives for embarking on this change of lifestyle, I’m sorry to say, were less than noble. I will not disclose them because this is an open blog and I do not wish to expose my adolescent pettiness. Let’s just say I needed to prove a point, and I did. The truth is, despite my silly reasons for becoming a ‘vegetarian’, I grew to love my new chosen veggie based diet. It made me more mindful of what I was eating, it forced me to read labels on food, to be more selective with that was going into my body and it cultivated in me a love for vegetables and pulses which was previously non-existent.

I have previously written about all the health benefits that lentils offer (you can read about that here). And somehow, nothing seems complement lentils like the zingy pepperiness of rocket. I will admit that after over-indulging a little this past long-weekend, I find myself in need of food that is healthy and restorative. So if you, like me, are looking to enjoy something ‘feel-good’ and revitalising, then this lentil and rocket salad with asparagus and radishes should do to the trick.

lentil and rocket salad IMGP0691

 

Ingredients:

1 tin can of lentils in brine, rinsed and drained

2 handfuls of wild rocket

50 grams of radishes, chopped

50 grams of asparagus

A couple of spring onions/salad onions, chopped

1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar

1 tablespoon of olive oil + 1 extra drizzle

Salt and black pepper

½ teaspoon of honey

A little bit of fresh parsley, finely chopped

The zest of half a lemon

 

How to make it:

In a small cup, combine the balsamic vinegar, lemon zest, parsley, honey and olive oil, along with a pinch of salt and pepper, and whisk briskly until the mixture is completely uniform.

Add the dressing to the lentils and allow them soak it up for at least 10 minutes.

Next, blanch the asparagus before soaking it in an ice bath. Drain and set aside.

Now, roughly break up the rocket and add to the lentils, along with some chopped asparagus and mix. Top with the radishes and spring onions. Finish the salad off with one final drizzle of olive oil.

Et voila!

lentil and rocket salad

 

2 thoughts on “Lentil + rocket salad

Leave a Reply

